Home Africa News Latest: Zim 2024 NAMA Awards winners list

Latest: Zim 2024 NAMA Awards winners list


The 22nd Zimbabwe National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA), were held on Saturday 24 February 2024 under the theme #KWAN22 in appreciation of their return to Bulawayo – the city of kings and queens. Early this month, the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe announced the nominees for this year’s Nama Awards via Facebook, in a video presented by the Chairperson of the Nama Adjudication Committee, Hope Masike.

The nominees were selected from submissions and work identified by individual and institutional monitors appointed to track excelling artists. 1280 entries were received, with Bulawayo Province having the most submissions. The music categories had the most submissions, followed by the visual arts.

The Stand-up Comedy category received very few submissions and as a result, it has been scraped from this year’s award show.

Here is the full list of winners and nominees for the 2024 National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA):

(Please bear with us as we are updating the list as more information trickles in)


Outstanding Female Dancer
Ellain Ncube (The Chronicles)
Deborah Kabongo (Fame in a Frame)
Vanessa Nyoni (Street Battles)

Outstanding Male Dancer
Tichaona Chikara (The Hero)
Sean Mambwere (The Chronicles)
Terence Kapesa (A man from Bulawayo)

Outstanding Dance Group
Elysium Magna Dance Theatre
Guruve Marimba Arts Ensemble
Salt and Light

Outstanding Dance Choreographer
Deborah Kabongo
Terence Kapesa
Sean Mambwere


Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work
My Daughter by Crystal Vimbanashe Beseni
Shiriyabvutarekeni by Sea Mpetwa
Wire Car by Christwish Malunga

Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work
Cultural Dancer by Chenjeri Chiripanyanga
Humility by Priviledge Garade
Charging Gorilla by Ray Chataira

Outstanding Mixed Media
What’s Next by Fizani Nkomo
Scaffolding on Site by Ishmael Marirofa
Dhunamutuna by Tawanda Takura

Outstanding Exhibition
Katundu Katurikwa – Solo Exhibition at National Gallery of Zimbabwe (Harare): Curated by Zvikomborero F. Mandangu
Pamoyo Sihlengeni – Solo Exhibition at National Gallery of Zimbabwe (Bulawayo): Curated by Doris Kamupira
Connections – Group Exhibition at National Gallery of Zimbabwe (Bulawayo): Curated by Hajee Ismail Mposa, Sinqobile Shamie Dube, and Doris Kamupira


Outstanding Poet
Ngonidzashe Paradza aka Mambo Guramatunhu
Shanay Wood
Chioniso Tsikisayi

Outstanding Social Media Skits
Admire Takudzwa Mushambi aka Mama Vee [Winner]
Theophilus Chigumira aka Mai Kirifodhi
Kudzanai Chengedza aka Mbuya VaPiyasoni


Outstanding Journalist – Print
Sharon Zebra – Alpha Media
Sindiso Dube – Alpha Media
Mthabisi Tshuma – Chronicle

Outstanding Journalist – Radio
MisRed – ZiFM Stereo
KVG – Star FM
Chamvary – ZiFM Stereo [Winner]

Outstanding Journalist – Television
Collete Musanyera – Ztv
Mr Dobbie – NRtv

Outstanding – Online Media
Khumbulani Muleya – Heart and Soul
Plot Mhako – earGround Africa
Jonathan Mbiriyamveka – Gem Nation


Outstanding Actor
Farai Clarence Borerwe as Augustine in Beautiful Men
Douglas Bramsen as Jafar in Aladdin
Dean Jones as Lage in Aladdin

Outstanding Actress
Charmaine Mujeri as Faith Nehura in Zuva Crumbling
Musawenkosi Sibanda as ALL MOTHER: We are One WINNER in Simunye
Nosizo Gumede as Runyararo I am/was Marah

Outstanding Theatrical Production
Simunye We are One – Directed by Mongi Wekhaya Mthombeni, Produced by Shearwater
I am/was Marah – Directed by Lloyd Nyikadzino
Zuva Crumbling – Directed by Tafadzwa Bob Mutumbi

Outstanding Director
Sandy Bradrick for Aladdin
Lloyd Nyikadzino for I am/was Marah
Tafadzwa Bob Mutumbi for Zuva Crumbling & Beautiful Men


Outstanding First Creative Published Work
The Train House on Lobengula Street by Fatima Kara
A Somber Graveyard Tale by Christopher Madala
UQhondisile MaKhumalo by Kephas Sibanda

Outstanding Children’s Book
Sloba and the Crocodile Tears by Martin Chayambuka
A Day in the Park by Audrey Chirenje
The Haunted Pumpkin by Mai Sarungano Folktales

Outstanding Fiction Book
Whatever Happened to Rick Astley by Byrony Rheam
The Magic and Masala by Violet Kee-Tul
UKhetiwe by Zibusiso Mabonisa

Outstanding Poetry Book
Looking for Mother by Nkosiyazi Kan Kajiri
Shamhu yezera renyu by Memory Chirere
Tesserae: A mosaic of poems by Zimbabwean women – Compiled and edited by Samantha Rumbidzai Vazhure and Marian Christie


Outstanding Actor
Everson K. Chieza as Jabulani in The November Promise
Alex Ayanda Marova as Sgora in High School Diary
Felix Machingambi as Comrade in Comrade

Outstanding Actress
Auxillia Mucharevei as Nomsa in Destiny
Munashe Goromonzi as Tsitsi in The November Promise
Bonakele Agnes Ncube as Dudu in High School Diary

Outstanding Music Video
Famba – Anita Jaxson, directed by Taurai Zidya
Harare to Mutare – Shingai ft Bryan K, directed by Jonathan Samukange
Damage – Tahle We Dzinza, directed by Jonathan Samukange [Winner]

Outstanding Screen Production (Television)
The November Promise – Derby Bheta
High School Diary – John Mabuyane
DNA Show – Tinashe Mugabe [Winner]

Outstanding Screen Production (Short Length Film)
Maoko akandirera by Tinashe Dhorobeni
Daughter of the Soil by Derrick Manieca
A few dollars more by Jabu Mudzvova

Outstanding Screen Production (Full-Length Film)
White Yet Black by Steve Chikosi
Comrade by Stephen Mutsago & Abel Silungwe


Outstanding Newcomer
Kinah the Music [Winner]

Outstanding Female Musician
Feli Nandi [Winner]
Janet Manyowa
Vuyo Brown

Outstanding Male Musician
Enzo Ishall [Winner]

Outstanding Song
One by One – Julian King ft Saintfloew
Raroorwa – Enzo Ishall [Winner]
Chiremerera – Jah Prayzah

Outstanding Album
Season 4 Jesus – Joyful Praise Choir
Chiremerera – Jah Prayzah [Winner]
Trophy – Freeman


Promoter Of the Year
Chipaz Promotion [Winner]
Xmo Squad
Stratosphere Events
Prunella Investments

Outstanding Artist In The Diaspora
Learnmore Jonasi (Stand-up comedy, USA)
Wiina Musamati (Visual Artist, USA)
Ernest Ndlovu (Film & Television Actor, South Africa)
Masimba Hwati (Visual Artist, Austria)

People’s Choice Award
Voltz JT
Holy Ten
Winky D [Winner]
Mai Kirifodhi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here